Elba is the largest island of the Tuscan Archipelago, and the third largest island in Italy after Sicily and Sardinia.
Elba and the other islands of the Tuscan Archipelago are under the protection of the National Park of the Tuscan Archipelago. The French island of Corsica lies about 50 km to the west.
The island of Elba is divided into eight municipalities: Portoferraio, Campo nell'Elba, Capoliveri, Marciana, Marciana Marina, Porto Azzurro, Rio Marina and Rio nell'Elba.
The island is 27 km long, 18 km wide and has a perimeter of 147 km, along which there are more than 70 beaches. Elba offers a territory rich in hidden corners to explore and both marine and mountain panoramas. The island is well prepared for tourism (on the island there are about: 200 hotels, 50 residences, 30 camping sites, and 30 farm house inns). The number of residents on the island is slightly more than twenty thousand.